Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Florida’s Afterschool Stakeholder Summit - June 6

Today the Florida Afterschool Network, Children's Services Council of Broward County and Broward College will host the Florida's Afterschool Stakeholder Summit: The Power of Afterschool at Broward College.

The purpose of the summit is to promote the powerful impact that expanded learning and afterschool programs are having in accelerating student achievement and establish the guiding principles to ensure that afterschool programs will be a part of the educational landscape in Florida’s future.

Topics include a National conversation relating to afterschool and expanding learning to increase student achievement; What’s Working Panel Discussion highlighting best practices in afterschool programs from 21st CCLC, Children’s Services Councils and Community-based and Faith-based programs; What Role Will Afterschool Play in Florida’s Future?; Panel Discussion on student’s needs and obstacles; and Florida’s Afterschool Roadmap.

The speakers will include some of the biggest advocates for the Florida afterschool programs, include FAN CEO Larry Pintacuda and COO Joe Davis; Linda Lanier, Chair, Board of Directors, Florida Afterschool Network; Cindy Arenberg Seltzer, President & CEO, Children’s Services Council of Broward County; Dean Aline Sarria, Broward College, Superintendent; Representative Gwyndolen Clarke-Reed; Daniel Lyons, President and CEO, Florida Boys and Girls Clubs; Ken Scubbs, Genesis Center 21st CCLC Program, Todd Rosenbaum, CEO, YMCA of Florida; Michael Skolnick, President of Community After School; Donna Lavalle, Co-Director of Smith Community Mental Health; Cynthia Reynoso, Program Specialist at CSC of Broward County; Suzette Harvey, Executive Director, PrimeTime Palm Beach County Inc.; Greg Haile, Vice President, Governmental Policy and Regulatory Affairs, Broward College; Lesley Fletcher, Deputy Division Chief of Education, NASA; Sharon Carie, President, Afterschool Alliance,; James Griffin Principal, Lauderdale Lakes Middle School and Florida Principal of the Year; Aline Sarria, Dean, Teacher Education programs, Broward College; Glenn Gilzean, Executive Director, Educate Today, and Pinellas County School Board member; Mike Lannon, Superintendent of Schools, St. Lucie County; Modesto Abety-Gutierrez, CEO, The Children’s Trust of Miami/Dade County; Art O’Hara Executive Director, R’Club Child Care Inc.

A full report of the summit will follow.

No comments:

Post a Comment